The Best Thing to Happen To A Relationship

Introducing: A Vacation From Hell

Rosemary Loshin
5 min readJul 3, 2020
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

“This is never going to work,” I thought when I learned he didn’t have a passport. How would we walk hand in hand through white-washed villages in Greece?

We clearly had different priorities if he hadn’t put in the effort to see the world before now. Still, I really liked him, and badly wanted him to get bitten by the travel bug so we could live happily ever after.

For Christmas, I gave him a handsome passport-holder enclosed with a post-it note indicating his appointment time to get his first passport.

There was also a sassy sidebar that explained how I refused to date anyone without a passport.

Our first trip needed to be monumental to make up for all the lost time he had spent stateside. Some of our friends were teaching English in Taipei, so I thought a trip to visit them would be a nice introduction into the type of journeys I pine for: not too luxurious, more culture than tourism, with ‘locals’ to show us the real gems.

Naturally, we would take a convenient layover in Tokyo for a few days.

This was the most I had ever planned for a vacation. Normally, I flew to where the wind blew, but I didn’t want this first journey to be stressful for him. This trip needed…

--

--

Rosemary Loshin

Everything raw and real. Be good humans, we’re all in it together.